The blogosphere and editorials are full of exasperation, doom saying, and sadness. I can’t read them anymore. Like it’s not depressing enough to think about the state of our government, our nation, and our planet, the sheer wallowing makes me angry beyond words.

I’ve been an environmentalist all my life. When other kids were reading comic books I was studying National Wildlife’s Environmental Quality issue, cover to cover. That’s how green-geeky I am. But I’ve never had the patience for those who felt that lecturing, finger pointing or blaming was the way to make progress.  I share the frustration of watching my parents, peers and subsequent generations squander our natural resources, and take our government for granted.  But no one likes a tattletale, nor a know it all.  I’ve met so many people along the way in my life who wanted to do the right thing, but didn’t know what that was.

I spent my career trying to get people to care about their food, their planet, their neighbors, through education and example.  Sometimes it has felt fruitless, but those little glimmers of hope kept  me going.
I now work with a giant glimmer of hope – the North Country Sustainability Center, also called The Hearth.  At the Hearth people can learn how to live with the planet, not just on it.  But they can also build their own businesses, teaching, or making, or sharing, or helping, others, by using a shared facility with a variety of purposes.

Finally there’s a place that truly integrates all aspects of humanity into this equation of sustainability. We have to live on the planet, but along with surviving we try to celebrate the wealth of our community, our natural resources and the spirit of tenacious creativity.  However, with this flicker of hope, we need a gentle breath of hope and support.  We’ve received lots of good wishes, “attaboys,” “likes” and “shares,” but those don’t buy the antique mill, or pay the bills. If people want to really show people there is a way to live on this finite planet, in this America, we need some capitalistic assistance.   I’m not asking for a fortune from anyone. I’m asking for a few dollars from a lot of people.  We’ve applied for some great grants, and we’ve got some ground game growing, but this is a very poor part of Massachusetts. It shares more with Iowa and Kentucky than it does with Boston .  Please spread the word about NCSC, send a little money our way and watch the flicker grow to a roaring fire in the Hearth. Thanks,

